Read MAC hard drive from a pc

A corporate customer phoned me yesterday, their graphic designer had moved on to another job. While he was at the company he had used an external disk drive on a Mac book. He had left the disk drive behind and the company needed to get at some graphic files on the disk.

They asked me if I could recover the files from the disk. There seemed to be two options, dismantle the external hard disk enclosure and piggy back the hard drive to a MAC or see if I could read the Mac drive files from a pc.

As I was on site and no MAC were available I opted for the second approach.

The file system on a MAChard drive is HFS (+) rather than FAT or NTFS so it cannot be directly read from a PC.

I downloaded a program called HFSE explorer and installed it on a pc.

After a reboot I connected the external MAC drive, run the program and the Mac files could be seen.  A simple drag and drop brought the TIFF files across to the PC where they could be used.

Mac support on Anglesey

This entry was posted in Hardware, Non Windows OS, Windows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

